Sweet and Sour style Mango Chicken

This is something I threw together using things that needed to be used up, but it turned out to be a big success with the whole family so I’m sharing it with you!

20140501-183523.jpg

Ingredients

1 garlic clove finely chopped
1 onion finely chopped
2 medium chicken breasts chopped into smallish cubes (1.5cm ish)
1 large yellow pepper
1 large carrot grated
1 chicken stock cube ground to powder
6 tbsp mango chutney
2 tbsp tomato purée
3 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cumin
Water
1 tbsp olive oil

Make it

1. Heat oil (medium to high heat) in a pan and add ground stock cube, ginger, cumin and garlic.
2. After 5 minutes add onion, grated carrot and yellow pepper, cook for another five mins until soft.
3. Add the chicken, stir and cover the pan. After 10 minutes the chicken should be white all over, but if not give it a stir and leave a bit longer.
4. Reduce the heat slightly and add the chutney, tomato purée and lemon juice. You will also need to add water at this stage to make your sauce. I used about 1/2 pint, adding a little at a time. Cover and simmer for 15 mins, stirring occasionally and adding water if needed.
5. Serve hot with rice!

The chutney I like to use is quite spicy (Aldi’s Bilash Mango Chutney) if your is mild and you like a bit if a kick you might want to add a bit if chilli.

Don’t be afraid to add more veggies, red and green peppers, fresh tomatoes, pineapple chunks or whatever you fancy, I probably would have if I had them in my fridge! I also think this would be great with turkey or pork. Let me know if you have any improvements for me, I’m a self taught, amateur cook with a very limited set of tools in my kitchen, making things up as I go along!

Leave a Reply

